SOTA Typography Award Honors Robert Slimbach

The Society of Typographic Aficionados is pleased to announce that type designer Robert Slimbach has been honored with the 2015 SOTA Typography Award. The presentation took place on Saturday, August 15th, 2015, at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel as a part of TypeCon2015.

Robert Slimbach

Chaired by board member Neil Summerour, the award jury included Devon Hoernschemeyer, Ale Paul, Adrian Shaughnessy, Guy Villa, and Petra Weitz.

Slimbach’s prolific work as a type designer — including on such library essentials as Minion, Myriad, and Trajan — made him a standout selection for SOTA’s 13th annual Typography Award.

The SOTA Typography Award is presented each year to an outstanding member of the type community. Recipients of the award have included Hermann Zapf (2003), Ed Benguiat (2004), Matthew Carter (2005), Adrian Frutiger (2006), David Berlow (2007), Gerrit Noordzij (2008), Gerard Unger (2009), Doyald Young (2010), Erik Spiekermann (2011), Mike Parker (2012), Zuzana Licko (2013), Fiona Ross (2014), Robert Slimbach (2015), Fred Smeijers (2016), Paula Scher (2017), Louise Fili (2018), Carol Wahler (2018), and Paul Shaw (2019).