SOTA Typography Award Honors Fiona Ross

The Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA) is pleased to announce that type designer, lecturer, curator, and educator Fiona Ross has been honored with the 2014 SOTA Typography Award. The presentation took place on Saturday, August 2nd, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Washington as part of TypeCon2014.

Fiona Ross

Chaired by board member Neil Summerour, the award jury included Stephen Coles, Shelley Gruendler, Paul D. Hunt, Erik Vorhes (prior to joining the SOTA board), and Tiffany Wardle de Sousa.

Over the course of her career, Ross has had — and continues to have — a profound influence on non-Latin and research-informed typeface design. This work, in addition to her collaborative and educational skill, made her the jury’s unanimous choice to receive SOTA’s 12th annual Typography Award.

The SOTA Typography Award is presented each year to an outstanding member of the type community. Recipients of the award have included Hermann Zapf (2003), Ed Benguiat (2004), Matthew Carter (2005), Adrian Frutiger (2006), David Berlow (2007), Gerrit Noordzij (2008), Gerard Unger (2009), Doyald Young (2010), Erik Spiekermann (2011), Mike Parker (2012), Zuzana Licko (2013), Fiona Ross (2014), Robert Slimbach (2015), Fred Smeijers (2016), Paula Scher (2017), Louise Fili (2018), Carol Wahler (2018), and Paul Shaw (2019).

Video by Erik Vorhes
Music by Kaivama
Photo by Helen Lysan