Krista Radoeva Named Winner of 2014 Catalyst Award

The Society of Typographic Aficionados has announced that Krista Radoeva of Sofia, Bulgaria will be the recipient of the 2014 SOTA Catalyst Award. Created in 2010, the award recognizes a person 25 years of age or younger who demonstrates significant achievement and future promise in the field of typography. Krista will present her work and receive the award at TypeCon2014, taking place this summer in Washington, DC.

About the Winner

Krista Radoeva, 24
Sofia, Bulgaria

Krista Radoeva is focused on type design and typography with a strong emphasis on history. Her inspiration is gleaned from the relationships between language, history, typography and experimentation. Krista graduated from the Type and Media course at The Royal Academy of Art in The Hague and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Design from Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design. Currently based in London, she has been working as a freelancer on various type and lettering projects, involving multilingual type design and is also researching Cyrillic script.

Amanita Typeface by Krista Radoeva

Ornamented Type by Krista Radoeva

Decorative Caps by Krista Radoeva

The panel of judges faithfully drew on their great experience and wisdom in reviewing a bunch of entries from talented and brilliant young creatives. There is no doubt we will be hearing more from all of the entrants as they continue to pursue their craft. Still, one entrant was to be selected and it was clear that person was Krista Radoeva. Here is what a few of the judges had to say:

“Krista has a keen sense of type design and lettering. Her work is very creative and original.”
“Krista’s typographic work demonstrates sophisticated skill and brilliant imagination.”
“Krista does lovely, thoughtful work, and she appears to be well on her way to a strong career in type design.”

The SOTA Catalyst Award is presented each year to a young person who has created a significant or important body of original work a field related to typography. Recipients of the award have included Satya Rajpurohit (2010), Erin McLaughlin (2011), Niko Skourtis (2012), Kyle Read (2013), Krista Radoeva (2014), Shiva Nallaperumal (2015), Roxane Gataud (2016), Ramakrishna Saiteja (2017), Frida Medrano (2018), Ruggero Magrì (2019), and Anagha Narayanan (2020)