SOTA Catalyst Award

The Society of Typographic Aficionados created the Catalyst Award in 2010 to recognize young people who have created original work in type design, type history, or other areas related to typography. Each year, the award is presented to someone who shows both current achievements and future promise in the typographic fields.

The primary purpose of the award is to act as a catalyst in the career of a young person who does not yet have broad exposure in the profession.

The recipient is awarded funds to attend the current year’s TypeCon event where they will be expected to present a talk about their work during the main conference program.

Award History


The call for entries is now open.


Shiva Nallaperumal


Krista Radoeva


Kyle Read


Niko Skourtis


Erin McLaughlin


Satya Rajpurohit