Latest News

May 22nd, 2018

2018 SOTA Catalyst Award Winner Announced

Frida Medrano will be the recipient of the 2017 SOTA Catalyst Award. Frida will present her work and receive the award during TypeCon2018, taking place this summer in Portland, Oregon.

See the full announcement for details.


March 19th, 2018

SOTA Catalyst Award Call for Entries

The Society of Typographic Aficionados is now accepting applications for its ninth annual Catalyst Award. The award is targeted at young people who have created original work in type design, type history, or other areas related to typography. It recognizes a person 25 years of age or younger who shows both achievement and future promise in the field of typography.

Please refer to the official call for entries for details.


December 19th, 2017

It’s Portland for TypeCon’s 20th!

TypeCon will be returning to Portland, Oregon for the 20th anniversary edition of the conference — August 1st to 5th, 2018. Join us at the conveniently located and recently redesigned Hilton Portland Downtown.

Additional details and updates will be published on the TypeCon site, via our Twitter stream, as well as in our email newsletter as they become available.


August 26th, 2017

SOTA Typography Award Honors Paula Scher

Designer Paula Scher has been honored with the 2017 SOTA Typography Award. The announcement took place on Saturday, August 26th, 2016 at the Boston Park Plaza as part of TypeCon2017.

See the full announcement for details.


May 26th, 2017

Changes to the Board of Directors

The Society of Typographic Aficionados is pleased to announce that Erin McLaugh and Xerxes Irani Cruz have joined its Board of Directors. Also, Corey Holms has recently stepped down from the Board.

See the full announcement for details.


News Archive